The Bainbridge Island Historical Museum (BIHM) is excited to announce its upcoming Annual Meeting scheduled for Saturday, February 10, at St. Barnabas Church from 1pm to 3pm. This afternoon event promises to be engaging as we celebrate the Island’s rich history together.
The highlight of this year’s Annual Meeting is recognition of Joel Sackett and Felix Narte Sr. as 2023 History Heroes. Both individuals have made significant contributions to preserving and promoting the history of Bainbridge Island. The Museum is honored to acknowledge their dedication and commitment.
In addition to the brief business meeting, the Annual Meeting will feature guest speaker Jonathan Evison. A New York Times best-selling author, Evison has published eight novels and garnered numerous awards and honors for his literary achievements. He will captivate the audience with insights into his experiences growing up on Bainbridge Island, reflecting on the island’s transformations, and sharing what it means to him.
“We are thrilled to have Jonathan Evison as our guest speaker. His unique perspective and storytelling prowess will undoubtedly add a special touch to our Annual Meeting,” said Amber Buell, Executive Director of BIHM.
The event is not limited to Museum members: Attendees are encouraged to bring friends who may be interested in becoming part of the Museum community. This Annual Meeting provides an excellent opportunity for both members and newcomers to connect, share stories, and celebrate the island’s rich cultural heritage. Light refreshments will be provided.
The Bainbridge History Museum is dedicated to preserving and sharing the diverse history of Bainbridge Island. Through exhibits, educational programs, and community events, the Museum strives to engage visitors in an exploration of the island’s past, present, and future. www.bainbridgehistory.or
The Bainbridge Island Historical Museum began as an informal Society in the 1930s, and in 1949 they joined with the Kitsap County Historical Society, Bainbridge Island Branch. In 1971, the Island Center schoolhouse (the schoolhouse was built in 1908, and one of the last one-room schools in operation on the island until 1923, when it closed), was donated by the school district to the Society to be used as a museum and moved to Strawberry Hill Park (site of a former U.S. Army Nike missile base). As the museum grew, and the community donated materials, they soon found themselves full to capacity, and through the generosity of the McCracken family, a new building was added onto the rear of the schoolhouse in 1997. Though Strawberry Hill was a beautiful setting for the museum, it wasn’t easily accessible and a new site was located on Ericksen Avenue, just one block north of Winslow Way and a short walk from the Seattle-Bainbridge Island ferry terminal. Both museum buildings were moved to the new site in 2004.
The museum is a delightful way to learn about the islands storied history and must-see for visitors and locals alike.
*Information provided by BIHM and our own archives
ADVERTISE WITH US! We offer exceptional rates and packages for advertisers, to learn more, contact us at Contact Us | THE ISLAND WANDERER